Who can file a complaint with ACSLPA?

2022-06-22T13:56:23-06:00

Any person may file a complaint about a speech-language pathologist or audiologist. This could include if you are a: Current or past client or patient; Family member, parent, friend or guardian of a client or patient; Colleague, co-worker or other regulated health care professional; Member of the public; or Employer. Any complaint that is submitted will be received, and acted upon, through the complaint process described in Part 4 of the Health Professions Act. If you are concerned about the practice of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist and wish to submit a complaint, please complete, sign and return the 'Complaint Form'.  [...]

Who can file a complaint with ACSLPA?2022-06-22T13:56:23-06:00

How will the information I provide be used by the College?

2022-06-14T14:16:56-06:00

Information collected as part of the complaints process will be used by the College for business and regulatory purposes and may be disclosed only in accordance with the Health Professions Act and the Personal Information Protection Act.

How will the information I provide be used by the College?2022-06-14T14:16:56-06:00

Can I submit a complaint if I received virtual care?

2022-06-14T14:15:23-06:00

Yes, if the speech-language pathologist or audiologist is a regulated member of the College then you may submit a complaint about their practice. For more information on complaints about virtual care, please contact the Complaints Director.

Can I submit a complaint if I received virtual care?2022-06-14T14:15:23-06:00

What could happen to the speech-language pathologist or audiologist based on my complaint?

2022-06-14T14:13:57-06:00

Each complaint is unique and the Health Professions Act has many different possible outcomes including: Resolution, through a conversation or agreement Dismissal Hearing Please review the Complaint Process (LINK HERE) for more information on the possible outcomes. Each complaint is addressed individually. However, it is important to note what the process cannot provide you: Money Directing a speech-language pathologist or audiologist to provide certain care to a patient or client Remedies or compensation that could be provided from a lawsuit in civil court Legal advice before, throughout or after the complaint process The College encourages you to seek legal advice [...]

What could happen to the speech-language pathologist or audiologist based on my complaint?2022-06-14T14:13:57-06:00

How long does the complaint process take?

2022-06-14T14:09:14-06:00

The complaint process can take anywhere from a few weeks to a few years. It is entirely based on the facts, circumstances, and complexity of the complaint. Please see the Complaint Process (LINK HERE) for more information on the possible routes of a complaint and the steps involved

How long does the complaint process take?2022-06-14T14:09:14-06:00

Do I have to talk to the speech-language pathologist or audiologist first?

2022-06-14T14:05:44-06:00

No, you may submit a complaint to the College with, or without, first addressing it with the regulated member. The College encourages you to attempt to address your concerns with the regulated member, or their employer, first. Often a concern can be addressed by speaking about it directly. Sometimes a person may not feel comfortable or not wish to do so. You may also feel that your concern was not addressed or resolved. It is your choice to talk to the speech-language pathologist or audiologist first.

Do I have to talk to the speech-language pathologist or audiologist first?2022-06-14T14:05:44-06:00

What should I include in my complaint form?

2022-06-14T14:04:35-06:00

The complaint form asks you to describe the incident(s) or your concerns and provide the regulated member’s name and contact information, if you have it. It is up to you how much detail you include. You may also include documents or other relevant information with the complaint form.

What should I include in my complaint form?2022-06-14T14:04:35-06:00

Title

Go to Top